Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?
 All Forums
 Heads Up!
 2006 Heads Up Archive
 Playoff Pool Tips Allow Anonymous Users Reply to This Topic...
 Forum Locked
Author  Topic Next Topic  

admin
Forum Admin

Canada
2335 Posts

Posted - 04/13/2006 :  14:26:33  Show Profile
Contributed by Harvey Rose:

I usually do alright in my playoff hockey pools; Top 5 or so is common for me. But up until the last couple years I had never really had a formula. I've played hockey my whole life, and watched the NHL faithfully since I was a boy so admittedly, I have some knowledge of the game but then again so do the guys I pool with. I always went with my gut and chose players from all over the place. If it was a big name, I was all over it! Sure, each year I got a little smarter and picked from teams that I thought would get farther and naturally that brought a little more success, but not the ultimate prize, 1st place. And more important than winning all the beer and wings I could inhale were the pool winner's bragging rights! Oh ya, there's nothing finer than being crowned the King among your buddies for the summer, even if they tell you it was "Pure Luck!" Remember, unlike the regular season, you get to keep this crown for the ENTIRE SUMMER! Of course I had never experienced that first hand, since I had never won a hockey pool before, until recently. Keep in mind, winning your pool will likely not bring you back in favor with your wife/girlfriend. Her 2 months of sacrifice will likely need more than a plate of wings to appease. Don't say that I didn't warn you.

First things first, I didn't find this formula out on the web, or even a sporting show or tabloid although I'm sure it is available through those avenues. I, of course, owe this knowledge to all the guys that I've pooled with throughout the years. All their tips and tricks eventually sunk in (unfortunately too slowly).