Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Search
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?
 All Forums
 Hockey Forums
Allow Anonymous Posting forum... General Hockey Chat
 Brutal OHL hit! Allow Anonymous Users Reply to This Topic...
 New Topic  New Poll New Poll
 Reply to Topic
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

n/a
deleted

4809 Posts

Posted - 11/09/2009 :  19:38:59  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
No, every hit is not illegal, because I haven't seen a hit like this yet this year in the NHL, in fact. The powers of observation and dissemination are weak amongst many posters here.

Does a player have to leave his feet to make the hit charging?
NO.

Does a player going full speed while hitting a player make it a charge?
NO.

Some boys here need a lesson in reading comprehension . . . well, I was a teacher, so here goes!

EXCESSIVE SPEED + EXCESSIVELY LONG RUN AT THE PLAYER + NO REGARDS FOR SAFETY =

C H A R G E

Liambas was going at full speed, or nearly full speed - everyone agrees with that, I think.
Liambas was going this speed while sizing up the player before the hit for at least 30, perhaps 40 feet, and maintained that speed while doing so.
Liambas saw the player besides the boards, saw him by the boards the whole time he was coming at him at full speed, and didn't think once for the safety of the player about to be hit (or his own, for that matter) while coming at full speed with a player two feet off the boards who was likely to not stand perfectly still for Liambas' hit. He came in knowing that after years of high level hockey, that any hit near the boards could turn dangerous quickly with excessive speed and excessive force . . . or at the very least, he should have damned well learned this by now, as every hockey player worth his salt has to know this!

Porkchop - show me one play where this "exact same play" occurs every other game in the NHL. Bullcrap!